Sri Lanka announced their T20 World Cup squad

Sri Lanka announced their 15 member squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2024 which will happen in the West Indies and USA. Wanindu Hasaranga will lead the team in this upcoming tournament while Charith Asalanaka will be his deputy. 

The 2014 champion will play their first match against South Africa on June 3rd in New York. Experienced all-rounder Angelo Mathews will be seen in the squad along with other experienced Dhananjaya de Silva and Dasun Shanaka. 

One of the surprise picks was Dunith Wellalage who is yet to make international debut. In recent ODI matches he was brilliant. He can be a great support to the spin department while he can also show his batting brilliancy. In the 2023 Asia Cup, he played brilliantly against India where he got healthy runs with the bat and also took 5 wickets in that match. 

Kusal Perera, the power hitter of the team missed the chance due to inconsistency with the bat in the recent few matches. Matheesha Pathirana who left the CSK (Chennai Super Kings) in IPL due to injury, has been included in that list and might get fit before the tournament. 

The teams who have already announced their squad for the ICC tournament are India, South Africa, Australia, England, New Zealand and West Indies.  

Sri Lanka squad: 

Wanindu Hasaranga ©, Charith Asalanka (vc), Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Kamindu Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Dushmantha Chameera, Matheesha Pathirana, Nuwan Thushara, Dilshan Madushanka. 

Travelling Reserves: Asitha Fernando, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Janith Liyanage.

Leave a Comment