New Zealand’s T20 world cup Squad revealed

New Zealand revealed their 15 member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup which will start in June in West Indies and USA. They are the first team to announce their squad for the upcoming ICC event.  

Experienced Kane Williamson will be seen in leading the team once again. While pacer Tim Southee will play his 7th season of this tournament and 5th for Trent Boult. Devon Conway who has been ruled out from this season of IPL due to the thumb injury is in the recovery process and might get fit before the ICC tournament gets started.Β 

On the other hand, pacer Matt Henry and all-rounder Rachin Ravindra will be playing their first ever T20 World Cup. To this selection Kiwi head coach Gary Stead said, 

β€œMatt has worked exceptionally hard on his skills across the phases of a T20 game to come back into selection consideration. Rachin has made every post a winner in the past 12 months and it was exciting to see him continue that trajectory over the summer in the T20 format against Australia.” 

Adam Milne has been ruled out as he is recovering from ankle surgery and it will require at least 10 to 12 more weeks. To this Stead said, 

β€œI think the injury to Adam Milne was really tough on him but it probably made it easier for us in some ways in terms of getting the squad that we wanted. We knew pretty quickly that it was surgery that he required on his ankle. Thankfully he’s had that now but he’s going to be out for I think it’s 10 to 12 weeks.”

New Zealand 15 member squad:

Kane Williamson Β©, Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee. 

Ben Sears will be the traveling reserve for the team.

Leave a Comment