South Africa announced their T20 World Cup 2024 squad

South Africa has announced the 15 member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup in USA and West Indies. Aiden Markram was given the leadership role and it will be his first ICC tournament in this new role. 

Quinton de Kock who has already announced his retirement from the ODI after the 2023 World Cup has been included into the team. Anrich Nortje will be joining the squad after nine months as he was having back injury and now he is fit and is currently playing for Delhi Capitals (DC) in the IPL. 

Two fresh faces will be seen – opener Ryan Rickelton and pacer Ottniel Baartman. Rickelton was selected for his aggressive approach in the recent SA20 tournament where he ended the season with 530 runs with a strike rate of 173.77 and the average being 58.88. He was the leading run scorer in that tournament. Baartman got 18 wickets in the tournament in 8 matches and made his entry to the ICC event. 

They are the second team who declared their squad for the World Cup. Earlier New Zealand declared their T20 World Cup squad which will be led by Kane Williamson. 

Two travelling reserves were announced, and they are Nandre Burger and Lungi Ngidi. From this, that means that no batting reserve will be travelling with the team. Earlier it was speculated that Faf du Plessis might be again seen playing for the national team, but unfortunately it didn’t happen.

South Africa squad:

Aiden Markram ©, Ottniel Baartman, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Tristan Stubbs, Tabraiz Shamsi, Ryan Rickleton, Kagiso Rabada.

Travelling Reserve: Nandre Burger and Lungi Ngidi.

Leave a Comment