KKR’s tsunami washed away DC by 106 runs

Kolkata Knight Riders’ (KKR) destructive performance took them to the top of the table after they destroyed Delhi Capitals by 106 runs. 

Kolkata posted 272/7 in 20 overs and created 2nd highest score in the IPL so far after SRH and in reply Delhi managed 166/10 runs in 17.2 overs. 

With this victory Knight Riders maintained their undefeated impact. Their last victory came against RCB when they won it by 7 wickets. On the other hand, Capitals registered their first victory in this season when they stopped the domination of CSK by 20 runs. 

After winning the toss, Knight Riders skipper Shreyas Iyer goes for batting first. 

Sunil Narine who is well known for his bowling but he changed the aspect in this season and contributed more with the bat as he got 85 runs in just 39 balls. In his ravishing innings he hit 7 fours and 7 sixes. He took the game away from the opposition in the powerplay and contoured his ruthlessness till 13 overs. 

After this another destructive knock took the team too much higher as Angkrish Raghuvanshi scored a brilliant 54 runs in 27 balls which includes 5 fours and 3 sixes. 

Towards the end Andre Russell (41 runs in 19 balls) and Rinku Singh (26 runs in 8 balls) managed the team’s score to get past 2nd highest score in the history of IPL.  

Anrich Nortje got 3 wickets and Ishant Sharma got 2 wickets. Khaleel Ahmed and Mitchell Marsh got 1 wicket each. 

Then in the chase, Delhi struggled at the start as they lost 4 wickets in just 33 runs. After that skipper Rishabh Pant (55 runs) and Tristan Stubbs (54 runs) got a partnership of 91 runs for the 5th wicket.

Pant was aggressive in his batting and hit back to back 50s. He played 25 balls and hit 4 fours and 5 sixes. Whereas Stubbs hit 4 fours and 4 sixes in his 32 balls knock. Remaining batters were unable to score much and all of them got all out in the 18th over. 

Varun Chakravarthy and Vaibhav Arora got 3 wickets each. Mitchell Starc opened his account in this season by taking 2 wickets. While Sunil Narine and Andre Russell got 1 wicket each. 

Sunil Narine, KKR, Player of the Match

Leave a Comment