Usman Khawaja’s Controversial Armband Charged by ICC

Usman Khawaja who wore the black armband during the match against Pakistan in a Perth Test as a protest against the ongoing situation in Gaza. 

Earlier he wore shoes in which it was written “all lives are equal” and “freedom is a human right”, instead of this he wore a black armband without taking any permission from the boards and the ICC. According to the rules of cricket, if  any player or team wanted to show any kind of protest or sorrow of any dead players/family members, they wear black armbands by taking the permission from higher authorities or from ICC.   

According to ESPNcricinfo, a spokesperson said, “Usman Khawaja has been charged for breaching Clause F of the Clothing and Equipment Regulations. Usman displayed a personal message (arm band) during the first test match against Pakistan without seeking any prior approval of Cricket Australia and the ICC to display it, as it required in the regulations for personal messages. This is a breach under the category of an ‘other breach’ and the sanction for a first offence is a reprimand.”

Before the Perth Test Khawaja opted not to wear the shoes in which it was written for the Gaza and revealed through a video in social media in which he indicates that his actions are not political, he said, “What I have written on my shoes is not political. I am not taking sides. Human life to me is equal. One Jewish life is equal to one Muslim life is equal to one Hindu life and so on. I am just speaking for those who don’t have a voice. 

The ICC have told me I can’t wear my shoes on the field because they feel it’s a political statement under their guidelines. I don’t believe it. It’s a humanitarian appeal. I will respect their view and decision. But I will fight it and seek to gain approval.” 

Still what punishment Khawaja will get is still not confirmed. There might be a 75% penalty of his match fees, or might not be able to play any 1-2 test matches later or might get a limited suspension over a period of time or so no.

Leave a Comment