Salt and Chakravarthy the winning formula of KKR

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) making their chances more bright for the playoffs after defeating Delhi Capitals (DC) by 7 wickets. 

Capitals scored 153/9 in 20 overs and Knight Riders in reply scored 157/3 in 16.3 overs. Finally after so much hard hitting in the IPL, this looked a little calm.  

When these two met against each other, Kolkata registered their highest ever total in the IPL and defeated Delhi by a huge margin. 

After winning the toss, Delhi opted to go for batting. 

A pathetic performance by the Capital batters as they failed miserably to score many runs. The top 4 were sent to pavilion under 7 overs, which put them on the back foot. Kuldeep Yadav was the highest scorer from the side with 35 runs in 26 balls in which he hit 5 fours and a six. He got unbeaten till the end. 

Rishabh Pant also tried some healthy shots and scored 27 runs in 20 balls but was unable to convert his knock to a big one.

Kolkata’s bowling unit was brilliant from the start. Their star performer was Varun Chakaravarthy who got 3 wickets in his 4 overs by giving away only 16 runs. Harshit Rana and Vaibhav Arora got 2 wickets each. Sunil Narine and Mitchell Starc got 1 wicket each. 

Like always Knight Riders got a destructive start and in the powerplay they posted 79 runs. Phil Salt showed some good assaulting power after scoring 68 runs in 33 balls. In his knock he hit 7 fours and 5 sixes. Narine got 15 runs in 10 balls. 

Then the Iyer duo took the match for the team. Shreyas scored unbeaten 33 runs in 23 balls while Venkatesh scored unbeaten 26 runs in 23 balls.

Axar Patel got 2 wickets while Lizaad Williams got one wicket which is also his maiden wicket in the IPL. 

Varun Chakaravarthy, KKR, Player of the Match

Leave a Comment