RR outclass DC for 2nd IPL victory

Rajasthan Royals (RR) again proved their brilliancy by restricting Delhi Capitals (DC) to a chaseable target. They won the match by 12 runs. 

Royals scored 185 runs in 20 overs by losing 5 wickets and in reply Capitals only able to score 173 runs in 20 overs by losing 5 wickets. 

Rajasthan won their first encounter against LSG by 20 runs whereas Delhi lost their first encounter against PBKS by 4 wickets

Capitals after winning the toss goes for bowling. 

Pant’s decision looks correct when they got 3 wickets of Royals in 36 runs. The team was brilliant in the powerplay. But then Riyan Parag (82 runs not out) and Ravichandran Ashwin (29 runs) got 54 runs for the 4th wicket and stabilized the team.

Parag was excellent in his batting as he batted under hard conditions when the team required him the most and he delivered. In his 45 balls knock he hit 7 fours and 6 sixes. 

All the five bowlers used by Capitals got 1 wicket each. Axar patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Anrich Nortje, Mukesh Kumar and Khaleel Ahmed got that reward. 

In the chase, Delhi too struggled at the start as they lost 2 wickets in just 30 runs. But a 67 runs-partnership was built between David Warner (49 runs) and Rishabh Pant (28 runs) for the 3rd wicket.

Then in the death overs Tristan Stubbs (44 runs not out) tried his best to reach the total but unfortunately he missed. He played 23  balls and hit 2 fours and 3 sixes. 

Yuzvendra Chahal and Nandre Burger got 2 wickets each. Avesh Khan though got only 1 wicket but his brilliant bowling in the final over as 17 runs were required in the last 6 balls and he only conceded 4 runs and got his team 2nd victory of the tournament. 

Riyan Parag, RR, Player of the Match

Leave a Comment