Pakistan broke their losing streak in the World Cup

Finally after 4 consecutive losses, Pakistan registered their 3rd victory of the tournament by defeating Bangladesh by 7 wickets.

Bengal Tigers managed only 204/10 in 45.1 overs and in reply Pakistan chased down easily in 32.3 overs and scored 205/3. 

Bangladesh skipper Shakib Al Hasan won the toss and elected to bat first.  

The start of the Bengal Tigers didn’t get well as they lost 3 wickets in just 23 runs. Then a brilliant 79 runs partnership built between Liton Das (45 runs) and Mahmudullah (56 runs). Mahmudullah is scoring well in the World Cup due to which he was sent up in the batting order and he justified that well. In his knock he hit 6 fours and 1 six. 

After that Shakib Al Hasan (43 runs) added some valuable runs in the middle and in the end Mehidy Hasan Miraz (25 runs) contributed some runs to the team total. At last they scored 204 runs in 45.1 overs by losing all their wickets.  

Pak bowlers did a fantastic job by restricting the Bengal tigers toi a below par score. Shaheen Afridi and Mohammad Wasim Junior both grabbed 3 wickets each. Haris Rauf got 2 wickets while Usama Mir and Iftikhar Ahmed got 1 wicket each.  

During the chase, openers were bagged superbly well and made a partnership of 128 runs. Abdullah Shafique (68 runs) and Fakhar Zaman (81 runs) played it pretty well. Shafique is continuing his run machine form while Fakhar made a comeback after scoring some low runs in the starting matches. In the end Mohammad Rizwan (26 runs not out) and Iftikhar Ahmed (17 runs not out) took their team to the victory in 32.3 overs and scored 205 runs by losing 3 wickets.   

All the 3 wickets were taken by Mehidy Hasan Miraz.  

Fakhar Zaman, Pakistan, Player of the Match

Leave a Comment