Jadeja, Rahul Shock exit – replacement announced

Indian all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and batsman KL Rahul will not be seen in the 2nd Test against England which will start on 2nd February 2024 due to the injuries.

Jadeja is having a hamstring injury while KL is having a pain in the right quadriceps. Sarfaraz Khan, Washington Sundar and Sourabh Kumar are added to the squad for the 2nd Test.   

BCCI said, “Jadeja sustained a hamstring injury during play on Day 4, while Rahul complained of a right quadriceps pain. The BCCI Medical Team is monitoring the progress of the duo and the men’s selection committee have added Sarfaraz Khan, Washington Sundar and Sourabh Kumar to the Indian squad.” 

India lost their 1st test match against England by 28 runs in Hyderabad and the English men are 1-0 ahead in the 5 match series. 

In the Hyderabad test, Jadeja showed a perfect game play of all rounder after making 89 runs (87 & 2) and took 5 wickets (3 & 2) in both the innings of the match. On the other hand Rahul scored 108 runs (86 & 22) in the first match. Therefore the unavailability of these two players might cost the team. 

Sarfaraz got his debut call for the test squad after showing brilliant performance in the domestic circuit especially in red ball cricket. In Ranji Trophy, he scored 928 runs in 6 matches (2019-20), 982 runs in 6 matches (2021-22) and 431 runs in 5 matches (2022-23). Averages 154.7, 122.8 and 107.8 in respective years. 

Washington Sundar has played 4 test matches for the team where he scored 265 runs which includes 3 half-centuries and took 6 wickets till now. He might be a perfect replacement for Ravindra Jadeja. 

Sourabh Kumar is a slow left-arm orthodox bowler and he also gets his maiden call for the team. Due to his significant performance in domestic cricket he got the chance to put his team into the squad. He plays for Uttar Pradesh. In 2021, he was the net bowler for the English team. 

Updated Indian Squad:

Rohit Sharma ©, Jasprit Bumrah (vc), Srikar Bharat (wk), Dhruv Jurel (wk), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, R Ashwin, Mohammad Siraj, Washington Sundar, Sarfaraz Khan, Shreyas Iyer, Avesh Khan, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Rajat Patidar, Mukesh Kumar, Sourabh Kumar.

Leave a Comment