ICC Slams Bumrah with Shocking Punishment

Indian pacer Jasprit Bumrah got a warning from ICC as he tried to stop England batsman Ollie Pope for taking a run. He received a reprimand and a demerit point for his behaviour.  

India lost the first test of the five match series by 28 runs in Hyderabad. During the 2nd innings of England in the 81st over, Pope after playing a shot against Bumrah, he start running for taking a run during which the Indian pacer deliberately came in front of the English batter, in which the Pope gets little annoyed and then Indian captain Rohit Sharma came forward and eased the situation.   

After this incident, Jasprit was found breaching Article 2.12 of the ICC Code of Conduct which relates to the Players and Players Support Personnel during an international match. 

Then ICC said, “The incident occurred in the 81st over of England’s 2nd innings, when Bumrah after completing his follow through, deliberately stepped in Ollie Pope’s way as the batter went for a run, leading to inappropriate physical contact.” 

The on-field umpires Paul Reiffel and Chris Gaffaney, third umpire Marais Erasmus and fourth umpire Rohan Pandit levelled the charge against the Indian pacer. And afterwards the match referee Richie Richardson proposed the stanchion, which Bumrah accepted peacefully. Therefore no further hearing will be required after this.

Leave a Comment