Sri Lanka’s shocking new Test skipper revealed

Sri Lanka will now have three captains in three different formats. Earlier they announced Kusal Mendis and Wanindu Hasaranga, skippers for ODI and T20 respectively. Now they make Dhananjaya de Silva as the leader in red ball cricket. 

SL’s chief selector Upul Tharanga confirmed the news for the team’s new leader in Test cricket. He said, “I would have preferred to have the same captain for all three formats, but we are unable to do that at the moment with the players we have.” 

Dhananjaya will replace Dimuth Karunaratne. Karunaratne was appointed the leader of the team in 2019 and took the role for 4 years, which ends in 2023. Under his captainship, he took charge in 30 matches in which he won 12 and lost 12, while 6 matches were drawn. 

Dhananjaya has a decent record in Test matches. He played 51 matches till now with an average of 39.77 and made 3301 runs. He has 10 centuries and 13 half-centuries in his pocket till now. Not only with the bat, he has some crucial wickets to his name as he got 34 wickets till now with an economy of 3.31.

Leave a Comment