Pakistan’s Chairman Revealed for 3-Year Term

Finally after so much if and buts, Pakistan Control Board (PCB) announced their full-time chairman. Syed Mohsin Raza Naqvi will be their 37th chairman and will remain there on the seat for 3 years. 

Earlier Shah Khawar was the interim chairman for the board as there was no one elected full-time. Naqvi is currently serving as an interim Chief Minister of Punjab (PAK province). 

After becoming the chairman, he said,

“I am deeply honoured and humbled to have been unanimously elected as the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board. I am thankful for the trust and confidence reposed in me. I am fully committed to upgrading the standard of the game in the country and bringing professionalism in the administration of cricket in Pakistan.”

Now he will have to face some challenges coming in front of him as the country is hosting the Champions Trophy in 2025 and a hybrid model is expected to be considered, since India opposes playing in Pakistan. The major tournament from which he will experience first is the PSL. 

He doesn’t have any cricketing experience just like Zaka Ashraf and Najam Sethi. After Ramiz Raja exit in 2022, there was no permanent chairman in the board.

Leave a Comment