Mohammad Shami writes Indian destiny to the final

Mohammad Shami’s brilliant bowling performance helped India to register their 10th consecutive win in the World Cup. They defeated New Zealand by 70 runs and moved to the finals. 

India set a huge target and scored 397/4 in 50 overs and in reply Kiwis fought hard and managed 327/10 in 48.5 overs. 

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma after winning the toss opted to bat first. 

Indian openers were aggressive from the beginning as they posted 71 runs in the first 8 overs. Rohit Sharma (47 runs) showed his aggressiveness again and played just 29 balls and hit 4 fours and 4 sixes in his knock. The other opener Shubman Gill (80 runs not out) got some cramps in between his innings due to which he had to leave the ground but came back in the last over. 

Virat Kohli (117 runs) continued his great form in the series and now he currently holds the most centuries by a player in the international circuit in ODIs. Not only this he holds the most runs scored by a batsman in the World Cup as his tally goes to 711 runs and it is still counting. Shreyas Iyer (105 runs) hit back to back centuries and again he batted with full destruction. He just played 70 balls and hit 4 fours and 8 sixes in his knock. 

In the end, KL Rahul (39 runs not out) with his aggressive shots took the team total to 397 runs in 50 overs by losing 4 wickets. 

Tim Southee got 3 wickets but gave away 100 runs in his 10 overs, while Trent Boult settled with 1 wicket. 

During the chase, Kiwis lost both of their openers at just 39 runs. Then a solid partnership of 181 runs between Kane Williamson (69 runs) and Daryl Mitchell (134 runs). Mitchell scored his 2nd century of the tournament and both of them came against India. He played 119 balls and hit 9 fours and 7 sixes in his innings. Also he hit the longest six (107 m) in today’s match in the tournament.  

Glenn Phillips (41 runs) also tried to support Mitchell but the target was very high and at last the team got submitted at 327 runs in 48.5 overs.

Mohammad Shami claimed 7 wickets and became the first Indian to get 7 wickets in the ODI. Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj and Kuldeep Yadav got 1 wicket each. 

Mohammad Shami, India, Player of the Match

Leave a Comment