CSK choked GT in all the departments

Last year finalists in which again Chennai Super Kings (CSK) dethrone Gujarat Titans (GT) by a huge margin of 63 runs. 

Both the teams won their first match. Super Kings victory came against RCB in the season opening match by 6 wickets while Titans won against MI in a close encounter by 6 runs

Gujarat skipper Shubman Gill after winning the toss goes for bowling. 

Chennai’s Rachin Ravindra (46 runs) again gave the team a blasting start in the powerplay. He again missed his maiden half-century in the IPL but before that he played only 20 balls and hit 6 fours and 3 sixes. With him the skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad (46 runs) also played well from the other end. 

Shivam Dube (51 runs) continued his ruthless form and in his 23 balls knock he hit 2 fours and 5 long sixes. Due to his blasting innings, the team managed to get par 200 runs mark and ended up on 206 runs in 20 overs after losing 6 wickets.   

All the Titans bowlers were highly expensive. Rashid Khan got 2 wickets by giving away 49 runs. Rest R Sai Kishore, Mohit Sharma and Spencer Johnson got 1 wicket each. 

In the chase, Gujarat struggled in the start as they lost 3 wickets in just 55 runs. Then for the 4th wicket Sai Sudharsan (37 runs) and David Miller (21 runs) put together 41 runs. But as they departed the remaining players were unable to score much. 

At last the team ended up on 143 runs in 20 overs after losing 8 wickets. 

Deepak Chahar, Mustafizur Rahman and Tushar Deshpande got 2 wickets each. Daryl Mitchell and Matheesha Pathirana got 1 wicket each.

Shivam Dube, CSK, Player of the Match

Leave a Comment