Australia got their 6th title of the World Cup

Australia ended the winning streak of India in the tournament and that came in the final and won the match by 6 wickets. It was their 6th title so far (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015 & 2023). 

India posted 240/10 in 50 overs and in reply Aussies chased down the target in 43 overs and scored 241/4. 

Oz, after winning the toss, opted to bowl first. 

Rohit Sharma (47 runs) the Indian skipper played the way for which he is known for as he took 31 balls to reach there. He hit 4 fours and 3 sixes in his knock. Later, Virat Kohli (54 runs) again looked in good touch and scored his 6th half century of the World Cup.   

KL Rahul (66 runs) was the highest scorer from the side in this match and took 107 balls to reach there. Remaining players were unable to score much after that and the whole team got submitted in 50 overs and scored 240 runs.

Mitchell Starc got the most wickets for his team in the match and grabbed 3 wickets. Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood got 2 wickets each. Adam Zampa and Glenn Maxwell got 1 wicket each. 

Aussies during the chase, lost 3 wickets in just 47 runs. After that Travis Head (137 runs) and Marnus Labuschagne (58 runs not out) built a brilliant partnership of 192 runs. Head got a little slow down in the middle as the team lost 3 wickets but as the partnership progressed he looked more and more aggressive. He played 120 runs and hit 15 fours and 4 sixes in his knock. 

In the end, Labuschagne and Glenn Maxwell (2 runs not out) took the 6th title to their name and chased down the target in 43 overs and scored 241 runs by losing 4 wickets.

Jasprit Bumrah got 2 wickets while Mohammad Shami and Mohammad Siraj got 1 wicket each. 

Travis head, Australia, Player of the Match

Virat Kohli, India, Player of the Tournament 

Leave a Comment