Team India gave a diwali gift by winning the World Cup

Finally in the last league match, India remained undefeated and knocked out Netherlands by 160 runs. With this their winning streak continues and it goes to 9 till now. 

India posted their 2nd highest total in the history of the World Cup and put 410/4 in 50 overs on the board and in reply Netherlands posted 250/10 in 47.5 overs.   

Rohit Sharma after winning the toss, opted to bat first. 

Indian team was looking aggressive from the starting as they posted 100 runs in just 12 overs. Rohit Sharma (61 runs) played in his destructive style and hit 8 fours and 2 sixes. With those sixes his total count goes to 60 and breaking the previous record of Ab de Villers (58) of hitting most sixes in a single year in ODIs. Shubman Gill (51 runs) also supported him pretty well. 

Virat Kohli (51 runs) was consistent with his bat and again hit a 50+ score. Later a brilliant partnership of 208 runs by Shreyas Iyer (128 runs not out) and KL Rahul (102 runs) put the team in a strong position. Also Rahul hit the fastest century by an Indian player in the World Cup who took 62 balls to reach there, breaking the previous record of Rohit Sharma. In the end with the help of their knocks, the team finally settled with 410 runs in 50 overs by losing 4 wickets. 

Bas de Leede got 2 wickets while Roelof van der Merwe and Paul van Meekeren got 1 wicket each. 

During the chase, the Dutch team got some healthy runs in between their innings. Teja Nidamanuru (54 runs) scored the most runs for his team in which he took just 39 balls to reach there and hit 1 four and 6 sixes in his knock. Some valuable contributions were given by Sybrand Englebrecht (45 runs) and Colin Ackermann (35 runs) in between and put the team total to 250 runs by losing all their wickets in 47.5 overs.

Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav and Ravindra Jadeja got 2 wickets each, while Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma got 1 wicket each.  

Shreyas Iyer, India, Player of the Match

Leave a Comment