Ruturaj Gaikwad & Harmanpreet Kaur will lead Team India for the 2023 Asian Games.

BCCI recently announced the full squad of Men and Women for the Asian Games. Ruturaj Gaikwad will be seen for the first time leading the men’s side whereas Harmanpreet kaur will lead the women’s side.

China will host the Asian Games in Hangzhou city. Firstly the women’s team will play which will start from 19th September – 28th September. After that the men’s side will come into play from 28th September – 8th October. Matches will be played in the T20 format. 

Both sides will have 15 members and 5 stand by players. Men’s team will send their B Team, since the World Cup will start in between the Asian games, therefore the main team will not participate. 

Indian men’s team will have some new faces like Rinku Singh whose incredible performance in the IPL makes him getting selected in the squad. Previously speculations were he was supposed to be in the West Indies tour but he didn’t get a chance and now he will show his class by representing his team in China. Some more players like Sai Kishore, Prabhsimran Singh, Sai Sudharsan, Jitesh Sharma and Yash Thakur also got the reward of their brilliant performances respectively in IPL to represent India in the international circuit. 

The Women’s Team will also show fresh faces like Titas Sadhu who performed brilliantly in the U-19 World Cup. Her excellent performance in the World Cup got her name for the Asian Games. 

Indian Men’s squad for the Asian Games:

Ruturaj Gaikwad ©, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Prabhsimran Singh (wk), Shivam Dube, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi.

Stand by players:

Yash Thakur, Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Sai Sudharsan.

Indian Women’s squad for the Asian Games:  

Harmanpreet Kaur ©, Smriti Mandhana (vc), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh (wk), Uma Chetry (wk), Amanjot Kaur, Devika Vaidya, Anjali Sarvani, Titas Sadhu, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Minnu Mani, Kanika Ahuja, Anusha Bareddy. 

Stand by players:

Harleen Deol, Kashvee Gautam, Sneh Rana, Saika Ishaque, Pooja Vastrakar.

Rinku Singh profile info:

Leave a Comment