BCCI’s tough stance for Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan

As BCCI released the central contracts for the players in which Shreyas Iyer and Ishan Kishan lost their spot from the contracts. Iyer was in Grade B whereas Ishan was in Grade C previously. 

Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja retained their A+ Grade. Some new players were in the contract list – Rinku Singh, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Jitesh Sharma, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Prasidh Krishna, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan and Rajat Patidar. 

Iyer was seen in the recent IND-ENG Test series where he played the first two test matches and then dropped due to the back spasm. Despite fulfilling the criteria set by the board he was released from the list. He played a vital role in the 2023 ODI World Cup in the middle order, where he performed brilliantly with the bat and scored 530 runs which includes 2 centuries and 3 half- centuries.

Earlier he told, that he will be available in the domestic matches. Therefore as per reports he was suggested to join Mumbai team for the quarter-finals in the Ranji Trophy but he couldn’t join. Now he will make his presence in the Semi-Finals match. 

Ishan Kishan was also in the 2023 ODI World Cup squad, but played only 2 matches in the absence of Shubman Gill. Later he was selected for the South Africa series, from where he stepped out from the series after requesting the BCCI. He also didn’t play Ranji matches for Jharkhand, in which he was supposed to be. 

Due to brilliant performances KL Rahul, Shubman Gill and Mohammad Siraj have been promoted in the list A category from B. Kuldeep Yadav has been promoted to list B from C. Only Rishabh Pant and Axar Patel have been down to list B from A.    

Grade A+Grade AGrade BGrade C
Virat KohliMohammad ShamiRishabh PantShardul Thakur
Rohit SharmaMohammad SirajSuryakumar YadavShivam Dube
Jasprit BumrahRavichandran AshwinAxar PatelTilak Varma
Ravindra JadejaKL RahulKuldeep YadavRinku Singh
Shubman GillYashasvi JaiswalRuturaj Gaikwad
Hardik PandyaWashington Sundar
Ravi Bishnoi
Jitesh Sharma
Arshdeep Singh
Mukesh Kumar
Sanju Samson
KS Bharat
Rajat Patidar
Prasidh Krishna 
Avesh Khan

Not Retained:

Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shikhar Dhawan, Umesh Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Hooda.

Leave a Comment